Home / ЗD. Virtual tour / Via Dolorosa. Virtual tour

Via Dolorosa. Virtual tour

The Old City of Jerusalem preserves the Via Dolorosa which literally means “way of suffering”. This street is considered to be the one that Jesus took to arrive at the place of his crucifixion. Many Christians follow this path in order to experience a new and emotional revelation. It includes the 14 Stations of the Cross, the majority of which are situated along the streets of the Old City, and the rest are in the area of the Holy Sepulchre. Along the Via Dolorosa in the Old City each visitor completes nine Stations:

  1. The place where Pontius Pilate sentenced Jesus to death on the cross. This is located in the patio of the Umariya school where a Roman fort once stood;
  2. The place where Pilate took Jesus before the high priests and where they put the crown of thorns on his head, it is found at the arch in the Lithostratus Plaza;
  3. The place where Jesus fell for the first time, on the corner of El-Bad Street (the Polish Chapel is located here today);
  4. The site of the encounter between Jesus and his mother Mary, currently the site of a small Armenian Catholic chapel;
  5. The place where Jesus met Simon of Cyrene, the man who helped carry the cross to the site of the crucifixion. Today the Franciscan Chapel is found here and the Via Dolorosa begins to climb slightly, up towards Golgotha;
  6. The location where Veronica wiped Jesus’s face, here you can find the altarpiece with a seven-armed candelabra in the chapel of the Monastery of the Little Sisters of Jesus (traditionally believed to be the where Veronica’s house once stood);
  7. The place where Jesus fell for the second time, it is marked by a large Roman column in the Franciscan Chapel;
  8. The place where Jesus met with the pious women, this location is marked with a Latin cross on the wall of the Greek Monastery;
  9. The place where Jesus fell for the third time, marked by a Roman column and, alongside it, the apse and roof of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.

The five remaining Stations are found in the area of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre:

  1. The place where Jesus’s clothes were taken;
  2. The place where Jesus was nailed to the cross;
  3. The site where the cross stood when Jesus died on it;
  4. The place where the body of Jesus was anointed after it was taken down from the cross;
  5. The place where Jesus’s body was placed in the tomb.

We have created the virtual visit so that you can follow along the Via Dolorosa as if you were visiting in person. Now you are able to see the holy places with your own eyes without having to buy an expensive plane ticket to Jerusalem. Thanks to our virtual visit you can learn about the Via Dolorosa and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *